Dark Souls II: A reminder on why I love to torture myself

What is Dark Souls? In sum, it is a microcosm of the human condition. Of why we love to torture ourselves. Of why we are enamored by archetypes of the starving artist or the underpaid worker. And yet we trudge along to the very end of our day and die. No, not sleep. Die — to be reborn again the very next day.


This is Dark Souls. The achievement text comes out the very first time you die. It is unforgiving. Death is at the very center of the game, and the tutorial mostly just teaches you how to hold your sword. AND DIE!!!!

“You know nothing, Jon Snow.” This is Dark Souls.

The first time I died, I was flattened by what seemed like a cross between an elephant and a gopher.
The second time I died, I fell off a cliff.
The third time I died, I was speared by an arrow to the eye socket.
The fourth time I died, I didn’t realize pigs were deadly.
The fifth time I died, I fell into a well.
The sixth time I died, I fell into the ocean.
The seventh time I died, I was cleaved in half.

dark souls 2

This is Dark Souls. After every death, I learned a little bit more and vowed (to my keyboard and mouse) that things will get better. And they did. Until I died again.

3 little pigs

Dark Souls II is available on PC and Consoles. On PC you can buy it via Steam for USD $49.99.

A special heads up to Sophia Lek for making my life a little bit more frustrating with a copy of the game.

By Jayvee Fernandez

Jayvee Fernandez is a tech enthusiast and sitting Techbology Editor for The Philippine STAR.

He is also an EAN certified SCUBA Diver and underwater photographer based in Metro Manila, Philippines. His photos and videos have appeared in various international and local publications including Random House Germany, Discovery Channel Canada, and CNN.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.